My First & Last Year At NCNM

In the past year and half, I’ve been through many transitions. Each one has been unexpected and each one has made my life for the better. One of the most recent transitions is the change in name of the National College of Natural Medicine as it gained university status and became the National University of Natural Medicine. Hurray!

My first year at NCNM became my last year with the transition to NUNM. It’s been a challenge trying to say NUNM without feeling weird about it in my head. N-C-N-M became N-U-N-M, or nun-um, or noo-num? Oh, who knows. We’ll eventually come to a consensus about the new acronym. Ha.

Exactly one year ago, I started ND classes at NCNM. It was awesome and amazing and exciting. Dreams were coming true and life was progressing in the right direction. I thought I had it all figured out until I realized that I hadn’t. It just wasn’t quite it. The switch over to the Chinese Medicine program has been pretty much the best unexpected chance I’ve taken, having not even been personally exposed to the medicine before. I’ve had great experiences in both programs and I’ve met tons of amazingly unique people at the school. No matter how I look back on the year, it will only be with excitement and joy.

I’ve grown a lot. I’ve learned a lot. And I’ve had fun doing it.

Over the summer I took classes. It was our catch-up term as Winter admits so that we could join the Fall cohort. It was a nicely packed schedule but it was also exceptionally fun. In one class, we got to get a taste of what it’s like to have hands-on practice with the medicine: needling, cupping, gua sha, tui na. It was basically a classroom play ground for Chinese Medicine students and it was incredibly fun. The experiences gained in both giving and receiving these various modalities reinforced in me that this is the path I want to be on, modalities I want to incorporate into my practice for the rest of my life.

I’m excited to see what my second year has to offer!

One down. Three to go.

Share Your Thoughts

